October 26, 2020



Faf Du Plessis Storms CSK into Finals | CSK vs SRH | IPL 2018 | Qualifier

Faf Du Plessis Storms CSK into Finals | CSK vs SRH | IPL 2018 | Qualifier

The first qualifier of the IPL 2018 played between CSK vs SRH ranking second and first in the points table respectively. In a low scoring game, Chennai Super Kings beats Sunrisers Hyderabad by two wickets. After winning the toss, CSK elected to bowl first. It was a nail-biting fight between the two teams. The fortune of both teams was swinging like a pendulum as time progressed. However, it was a spirited inning of Faf Du Plessis who almost single-handedly took his team from the mouth of the defeat to winning the game in style.

Batting first SRH, Shikhar Dhawan got bowled on the first bowl off the first over he faced by Deepak Chahar. Whereas, Shreevats Goswami and orange cap contender Kane Williams tried to build the inning from there but fell short. Therefore, SRH didn’t have a very good start. Only Carlos Brathwaite shined with his bat for SRH. He made quick 43 runs off 29 balls with 4 sixes. Yusuf Pathan also contributed 24 runs off 29 balls. However, Bhuveshwar Kumar and Carlos Brathwaite had a good partnership of 5t1 runs in just 30 balls. Due to which they were able to recover and post a respectable score of 139 runs at the loss of 7 wickets in their 20 overs.

Ravindra Jadeja bowled exceptionally well for the CSK. He bowled 4 overs giving just 13 runs and taking 1 wicket. Furthermore, Lungi Ngidi bowled 4 overs giving 20 runs and taking 1 wicket. Also, Dwayne Brave bowled 4 overs giving 25 runs and taking 2 wickets.



Faf Du Plessis Storms CSK into Finals | CSK vs SRH | IPL 2018 | Qualifier



Chasing a target of 140 runs CSK opener Shane Watson got out on a duck by Bhuvneshwar Kumar. But, Fad Du Plessis played like immortal partnering with almost 9 batsmen scoring 67 runs off 42 balls. He hit 4 sixes and 5 fours in total. Suresh Raina started well but got out on 22 runs by Siddarth Kaul. Furthermore, Ambati Rayudu also got out early. From there on Dhoni, Bravo, Jadeja, Deepak, Harbhajan all got out quickly and cheaply. Rashid Khan bowling for SRH bowled 4 overs giving just 11 runs and taking 2 wickets. At one time from 9th over to 14th over CSK didn’t get a single boundary.

However, it was Shardul Thakur for CSK who in the final overs with Faf Du Plessis played a brave inning and hit 3 fours in the penultimate over. On the first ball of the final over by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Faf du Plessis hit a six to end the chase and celebrated the team’s victory. CSk Storms into the finals. Furthermore, CSK is the only team that has reached finals seven times in total. Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the most successful captain in the IPL history.